Harakiri

1 Comment

Filed under WOD

One response to “Harakiri

  1. stewartparker

    Every day, at least once a day, I feel like committing career harakiri. I don’t want to inflict actual bodily harm (not to myself, anyway; I don’t have the stomach for it, or a sharp enough sword). But every day, at least once a day, I think about slicing this mother open, letting its guts spill out on the floor, throwing some of them against the wall, and seeing what sticks.

    I am not my student loans. I am not someone else’s busywork. I am not bottled dreams and unrealized potential. I want to set my laptop a sailing, take a hatchet to my desk, and start my client files on fire.

    Not nearly as dramatic, but just as noble.

    Not mocking their devotion, just kneeling down, looking destiny in the face, and screaming: “I, too, believe in something better!!!”

Leave a Reply

