Doppelganger

3 Comments

Filed under WOD

3 responses to “Doppelganger

  1. bed of lamb 666

    The doppelganger for my left foot is my right foot.

    The doppelganger for the peeling, decaying skin on my right foot is the peeling, decaying skin on my left foot.

    The doppelganger for the aching, numbing pain in my right foot, the pain caused by kicking one too many objects out of fear, out of spite, out of running out of milk, is my heart.

    The doppelganger for Bruce Willis is a potato.

  2. stewartparker

    My whole life, people have seemed to recognize me: “You look so familiar”; “Don’t I know you from somewhere?”; “You remind me of so-and-so”; “You look exactly like my cousin/ex-boyfriend/neighbor/English teacher/some musician or actor (Sting, Arnold Schwarzenneger, Chris O’Donnell, Matt Damon, Billy Crudup, and countless others).”

    I usually respond with “oh really?” or “thank you” or “well, I guess I just have one of those faces.” But deep down, I don’t know what to make of this. I have never met anyone that I think looks even remotely like me. Why is that? And why has everyone met him first? He must be very popular. But then, maybe people run into him later and tell him he reminds them of me. I guess I’ll never know.

    Or will I? And what would happen if I ever did come face to face with this apparent doppelganger? Would the universe implode? Would we both vanish into thin air? Would we feel compelled to fight each other to the death right then and there, in true Highlander fashion?

    Or would I just be disappointed that he wasn’t better looking?

  3. Surly Temple

    If I could construct a doppelganger
    And then drop this hollow into its heart
    Then maybe I could watch something else behave badly
    Escape culpability myself
    But still ensure you get what you deserve.

Leave a Reply

